12/07/2019 | Le Bureau Export Paris

Germany | Reeperbahn Festival announces the shortlists for 2019 International Music Journalism Award

For the second year running, Le Bureau Export is a partner of Reeperbahn Festival’s International Music Journalism Award (IMJA) – co-ordinating the French-written edition. Following the call for submission running until June, 20, the festival has announced the papers and journalists shortlisted in French, German and English. 

Reeperbahn Festival : International Music Journalism Award (IMJA)

In a context in which music journalism is ever more challenging to be produced, the IMJA aims at shedding light on outstanding individual work and first-rate ongoing journalistic engagement that focusses on popular music and its business climate. The IMJA pays a special attention to the work of young music journalists.

Again this year and in association with Le Bureau Export, the IMJA opened its selection to French-written papers.

Professional journalists and hobbyist had until June, 10 to submit their articles or papers which they find outstanding – provided these were published between the 1st of June 2018 and the 31st of May 2019.

IMJA 2019 : The French shortlists

Each paper have been closely examined by the French jury, presided  by French journalist and Pop music specialist Bertrand Dicale (France Info / NewsTank). The jury is composed of PR Justine Debicki (Boogie Drugstore) and radio & podcast host Laura Leishman (Laura Leishman Podcast). They have selected:

The Best Music Journalist of the Year – French

  • Brice Bossavie – freelancer, several media, including Libération, Tsugi, Binge Audio 
  • Adrien Durand – freelancer, several media, including Les Inrockuptibles
  • Clémence Meunier – tsugi.fr

The Year’s Best Work of Music Journalism / Print – French

The winning journalist in the category « The Best Music Business Journalist of the Year – International » will be elected by popular vote during the Reeperbahn convention.

Each winner will be invited to attend Reeperbahn Festival and announced during the award ceremony taking place within the conference – from September 18-21, 2019. 

Find out the English & German shortlists: